Germany and South Africa Form Green Hydrogen Task Force
A joint Declaration of Intent has been signed between Germany and South Africa to establish a Hydrogen Task Force between the nations.


Aiming to help drive the commercial viability of green hydrogen projects, industry, and infrastructure, the Task Force exists within the framework of the South African – German Energy Partnership.

Four objectives were laid out for the task force:

  • Formalise the bilateral exchange of information and assessments on upscaling green hydrogen in the two countries
  • Support the establishment of lighthouse projects resulting in recommendations for political dialogue
  • Facilitate market access and promote trade of green hydrogen and power-to-x products between the two countries
  • Promote the creation of a network between government, industry, and research institutions from both countries

Additionally, the Task Force highlighted a number of priorities, including sharing information to aid the development of a green economy, supporting bilateral hydrogen contracts between the nations, identifying challenges in supporting the value chain, and exploring funding mechanisms to support the development of a green hydrogen market.

The Declaration of Intent was virtually signed by the South African Minister of Electricity, Kgosientsho Ramokgopa, and the German Vice Chancellor and Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate Action, Robert Habeck, during a Bi-National Commission between the two countries.